Princess Anna

When I grow up, I wanna be a princess. Isn’t that the fantasy of many little girls? But then, reality intrudes. We mature. We grow up. We have a family and car payments and a mortgage. Quite obviously, we are not princesses and we never will be…

a princess and "her" castle...

But I am reminded on a regular basis of such childhood fantasies. Even more than my older daughters who enjoyed imagination play for many years, my youngest one is still quite proud to be “Princess Anna” at 9 years old! Anna and I recently took a trip to another National Park in southwestern Colorado that has amazing Anasazi ruins. As we explored the canyon, we found Hovenweep Castle. And Princess Anna curtseyed for the camera in front of “her” castle.

Yes, that is really cute. And, yes, I enjoy watching Anna delight in dressing up and in acting “la-di-dah” like a princess. But even more, I am challenged by my youngest daughter…

I’ve decided it’s time to let some of those princess fantasies back into MY life. It’s time to feel and act beautiful. It’s time to be convinced that others are looking at me in a positive way. It’s time to put more imagination in my life–and not just when my kids are with me to give me an acceptable excuse.

So…I’m putting on my (invisible) tiara today and I’m going to celebrate my “royalty”. Will you join me?!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pam
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 16:34:55

    what a great idea! and we are Princesses, daughters of the King! I wonder how different our lives would be if we really believed and know the King’s Kingdom is real and we truly are His daughters, His princesses?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

