My Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Night

Just like Alexander, I’m having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night…

There are very good reasons for quitting ski patrol, all of which make perfect logical sense. And I’m certain this is the right decision. But I worked so hard to get the certifications. And James was supposed to patrol with me. And I survived the training and got my Senior certification (even after James died). And I love teaching OEC to new candidates… But I’m quitting. And I’m tired of grieving losses. I’m having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night so, like Alexander, I think I’ll move to Australia.

My oldest daughter leaves for a new job on the other side of the world on Tuesday morning. And I’m going to miss her. And she is anxious and worried about leaving. And I don’t want her to go. And she is excited. And I’m jealous that I’m not the one traveling. I’m having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night. Maybe I’ll fly away to Australia on Tuesday…

My middle daughter Nettie is having grand adventures taming wild-mustangs way back in a canyon this month. I wish I could tame wild-mustangs, or at least have an adventure, even if it is hard work and not so grand at all. I’m having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night. If I moved to Australia THAT would be a grand adventure…

A friend is planning the first four weeks of her family’s home-school year. And instead of planning interesting studies and fun outings and museums to see and music to listen to, I’m stuck with a public school student. I have to pick my youngest daughter up from school each day, then fight with her to get her homework done and her chores done and her room cleaned. (I think Hurricane Irene actually devastated her bedroom…that MUST be the explanation for the chaos in there…) I’m having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night. I’m gonna run away to Australia. (Maybe I could call it a field trip?)

Another friend asked me too many questions this weekend. And when I talked to my husband about it, he asked me more questions. And I’m tired of questions and I want some answers. This feels like a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night. Do you think there are answers in Australia?

Besides, I think everyone else is having fun with friends (even my youngest daughter who is now in school.) And all of my friends around here don’t have enough gas money to visit. Plus they are all too busy for me to visit them right now. And the church in town is changing their schedule (again) so I probably won’t see my friends on Wednesday nights anymore. This is a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night. If I’ve got to make new friends, I think I will look for them in Australia. Everyone has “mates” there, right?

I’ve got a zillion things on my to-do list. And I hate doing so much paper-work. It gets boring doing the same things over and over. And I think my younger son is bored too. Some times this all adds up to a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night. Can I add “run away to Australia” to my to-do list?

I’m going to crawl back under the covers and cry some more. I sure hope I can fall asleep sometime tonight. And I sure hope I feel better in the morning. And I sure hope I survive this terrible, horrible, no good, very bad night. Otherwise, I’ll send you a postcard from Australia…

with thanks to Judith Viorst for the story of Alexander's Day

Leave a Reply

