Change

How in the world does someone get back to writing regular blog posts after falling way, way behind? I thought about writing a summary of this summer. I thought about just apologizing and jumping back in. I thought about writing frantically for a few days and posting a bajillion stories all at the same time. None of these felt right…and none of these motivated me to log back in to wordpress.

But…I do like participating in Five Minute Fridays “where a beautiful crowd spends five minutes all writing on the same topic and then sharing ‘em on a common site” This week’s prompt is “CHANGE.” Somehow that grabbed me, so I’m jumping back into regular blogging by joining this week’s challenge. Then I will (re)start posting on Mondays and Fridays, starting next week. See you then!

Ready, Set, GO:

Change…oh how I love change! I confess that I get bored when expected to do the same thing over and over and over. Fortunately, I have spent most of my adult life working with kids—my own and other people’s. And it is rarely possible to be bored when surrounded with kids. You just never know WHAT might happen next!

This summer has been filled with busy-ness. I’ve been to London. I’ve photographed two weddings for Navajo friends. I’ve chauffeured kids to the back of beyond and home again. I’ve worked hard to help kids transition to highschool and to college (other kids) and back home for school (daughter Anna).

I KNOW life has been too busy because when I woke up this morning with nothing I “had” to do and no place we “had” to go, I didn’t know what to do with myself!

And in the midst of busy-ness and travel and fun activities, we are beginning to realize it is time for a bigger CHANGE in our family situation. We have been (mostly) volunteers in a remote area of Navajoland for the past 2 1/2 years. While we love living here and working with at-risk Navajo youth, we are recognizing that we are lonely. We are “dry” without regular soaking worship and prayer time (even though we are at church most Sundays). We are weary of feeling the stress of tight finances. I want to pursue using EMS to help others and am frustrated at the lack of opportunity to do so out here (even while there is a desperate need for emergency medical care in this abandoned and remote area).

I guess life is feeling a little bit like the local scenery right now…

What will this CHANGE look like? Right now we have no idea… Even though my immediate, emotional reaction is to suggest we relocate to some other place immediately, my wise and less-impulsive husband reminds me that we are committed to be here (for now), we need to find paying work before we would move, and we have plenty to keep us busy until changes happen…

Sigh…guess I will keep plodding along.

Come to think of it, that relates well to the word-for-the-year I chose way back in January: “walk.” Perhaps I should take some time and ponder that word again–even when I prefer to JUMP…or at least to RUN!

So while I keep on walking, I will just comfort myself with the thought that change IS coming…

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denise
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 18:41:14

    This was a nice post.

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 18:59:53

    Oh how I wish that I could embrace change as you have described. I still resist and fight it and eventually give in to it. Praying for you as you all walk out the change that is coming. Thanks so much for sharing! Blessings!

    Reply

  3. Beauty out of dust
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 19:10:51

    Oh man. I have so been there and still am in some ways. We were missionaries in Peru and often alone and needing a break to be refreshed physically, mentally, spiritually and emotionally. And then now just needing to keep plodding along working, schooling kids,etc. So I “feel ya”. I also relate to the timing of blogging. I just started blogging again in June and yet have hardly a post to show for it. 🙂 I think I have too many rules for myself and just feel free to write and share whenever.
    Loving this FMF crowd! Thanks for visiting my blog too!

    Reply

    • jecolorfulheart
      Aug 31, 2012 @ 20:07:35

      SO good to know someone else “gets it” — isn’t it good to hear from others and be encouraged?!

      Reply

  4. Lettie
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 21:30:40

    Having been one who has “fallen behind” many times, I’ll just say that I’ve learned (through years of wanting to ‘jump’ rather than ‘walk’) that I am where I am supposed to be even when I don’t think I am. Even when it is really uncomfortable – maybe especially when it is really uncomfortable. May the time come soon for your change to reveal itself and until then know how much your presence is appreciated where you are. I give you great respect for the work you are doing and pray for your happiness and well-being. 🙂

    Reply

    • jecolorfulheart
      Sep 01, 2012 @ 07:07:34

      Thanks for your encouragement Lettie—and for the reminder that I really am where I’m supposed to be right now

      Reply

Leave a Reply

