Confession Time…

Some of you know this already. Some of you will be surprised. After all, I’m in my 50s now. I’m a suburban, minivan driving, stay-at-home mom. (Well, I USED to be that…before moving to the middle of nowhere, switching to a 4wd that can handle miles of dirt roads, and taking on reading tutoring for at-risk Navajo kids…but the idea is still the same, right?!!)

I didn’t make this decision lightly. I followed the advice I gave one of my sons a few years ago—I can cover it up and it’s something I will be proud of at any age. After thinking about it for almost four years, I finally found enough courage to get it done.

What is “it”, you ask? Why, a tattoo, of course! Yes, I am the proud owner of a chubby-faced monkey tattoo on my upper left arm. (For those of you who are shocked by that idea, please sit down and take a few deep breaths. I’m still the same ole boring person…really!)

Why did I do “it”, you wonder? It is a way to remember our son who died 4 ½ years ago. The monkey is a copy of a prize that he won in an international tournament in an on-line game just a few days before he died. The words “Heaven’s Gift” are both the name he gave that monkey and a reminder of what he was to our family.

Here are a few photos:

The artist who drew the final version and tattooed it on my arm…

Proud owner of a cute tattoo…

Tattoo close-up

And, to close, here’s a funny story:

A few weeks ago, I wore a sleeveless blouse to the school where I am a reading tutor. Apparently I haven’t done that since last April. One of the “little ones” (2nd or 3rd grade) ran up to me and gave me a big bear hug, squealing, “Mrs. E! Mrs. E! You have a TATT! That is sooo cool!” She then ran off to announce this amazing news to the rest of the little girls in the cafeteria, who quickly gathered to see this wondrous thing. Who knew that a cute monkey tattoo would give me “cred” with the playground crew?!

Leave a Reply

