Changing Time

I have been reading a fascinating book: Creating Time: Using Creativity to Reinvent the Clock and Reclaim Your Life by Marney Makridakis. I read it from cover to cover when I first got the book. It is filled with little sticky notes, marking passages that have challenged me, projects to try, and statements that I either strongly agree with or question. Because I’m planning to send this book on to a friend when I finish with it, I have restrained myself and not mangled and marred the book by bending over page corners and scribbling in the margins!

I bought the book initially because I assumed it was about making/taking time to do creative things. I thought it would help me “prioritize” me-time, and artsy-time. What I discovered, however, is that those ideas are background in the book. The primary focus is on changing our perception of time from “not enough” to being something of “abundance.” The author lays out her ideas in readable format. She includes tidbits from others who have played with these ideas. And she finishes each chapter with hands-on activities to remind the reader of the principles in the book.

Eventually, I plan to do some of those creative projects. (When I do, I will post photos on my art blog…) For now, I continue to dip back into the book, reading a quote here and a passage there. I’m still finding new ideas that challenge my beliefs about the world, about time, and about my own life.

I am trying to put some of these ideas into practical form. Last Monday looked like it was going to be a hectic, horrible day. I had a zillion things on my to-do list, most of which were NOT optional. It seemed impossible to finish everything on the list all in one day. On Sunday night, I was stressing about the coming day, dreading the morning alarm which would start the rat-race.

Then, as I was driving to town that morning, I remembered one of the ideas from this book. It sounded corny to me, like one of those shmarmy positive-thinking-will-change-your-life ideas. It felt too simple to make any difference. But…facing that overwhelming to-do list, I decided it was worth a try.

I told myself that I had all the time in the world, certainly enough time to complete everything that needed to be done. Each time I felt my heart start racing and my muscles tense up throughout the day, I repeated those same thoughts.

Amazingly enough, by the end of the day, I had indeed completed everything on that dreaded list. And, in general, I enjoyed the day. I wasn’t overwhelmed, after all.

Hmmm…maybe it’s time to get out that book and read it some more. Time to find a few more tidbits to put to the practical test. Time to stop stressing and “create more time.” I’m going to give it a try—how about you?!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jecolorfulheart
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 07:06:39

    In response to your changing time blog, this is on the front of one of my
    favorite birthday cards.
    I received it years ago from someone at Dublin Baptist.

    Because God orders our steps, we can always be assured
    that there is enough time in each day to do His will.
    He sets the pace. He is never anxious.
    His purpose is for us to move in rest,
    live in peace,
    abound in joy,
    and depend totally on Him
    to accomplish through us all He desires. Roy Lessin

    Love & prayers,
    Mom

    Reply

  2. jecolorfulheart
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 07:11:38

    Another comment from my mom:

    Me again! While I was reposting the birthday card on the party fridge I
    noticed this posting:

    Remain in me, and I will remain in you John 15:4

    Lord, keep me in the quiet
    Help me to realize that attempting to abide in you
    While racing through my days in a series
    Of programmed activities and Christianized hassle
    Gets me nowhere but to the end of my rope
    Teach me to take time to be and to abide.

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 08:49:34

    Jill,
    How perfect is the TIMING of this blog. I must read that book. I love your pic of it, all “tagged”! Years ago, when Ry was little, a friend & I covered the inside of a file folder with pics we felt showed our life. I found one with a woman hanging off the hand of a huge person-sized clock on the side of a building. That was me – always trying to grab hold of time.

    The old saying, “Little is much when God is in it” must refer to time, too.

    Love you, Creative, Colorful Friend!
    Sharon

    Reply

    • jecolorfulheart
      Sep 24, 2012 @ 11:46:01

      Please do NOT go buy the book or run to the library to get it…it is on its way to you as of Wednesday…I actually bought the book earlier this summer specifically to send to you as a gift…but just had to read it first 🙂

      Love you, Jill

      Reply

  4. Sharon
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 14:54:12

    Wahooo! You can leave the tags in it if you want. :~D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

