When Opportunity Comes Knocking

(This post is linked with 5 Minute Friday—where the host site offers a word, and many bloggers choose to write for 5 minutes on that subject. You can see more posts about “Opportunity” by participating writers HERE.)

I haven’t had much to say here for the past few months. Life has been chaotic in ways that I wasn’t supposed to talk about publicly. I wrote a few entries during that time which I will (probably) eventually post.

Quick summary: funding ran out, vision was not sustainable, job working with at-risk Navajo young people with a mission in a remote area of New Mexico has ended. (You can read a little more about it HERE.)

Needless to say, this has been a stressful time. We have applied for numerous jobs across the country, but so far all doors remain tightly CLOSED. We finally decided to move back to central Ohio in December to live with family until we can figure out what is next for our family.

As we were planning the move, I asked my husband if I should apply to a Starbucks near my parents’ house to help bring in a little income. After all, being a barista can be done early in the morning while my kids are still sleeping, it includes lots of people contact, and caffeine is involved. Seemed like a win-win to me.

My husband just looked at me, commented “do what you want,” and walked out of the room.

A few days later, I asked again. And again, he commented “do what you want,” and changed the subject.

Now, those who know me, know I do NOT have the patience of a saint. So when the same thing happened the next day, I gave a sharp answer: “what I WANT to do is travel the world, but we don’t have any money so that’s not possible. Stop saying I should just do what I want!” But again, my dear husband, just smiled and walked away.

Whew! I’m surprised you didn’t hear on the news about a murder in a remote area of New Mexico!

And then…

And then…a few days later I got a phone call from a friend. She was feeling overwhelmed with 3 young children and another baby on the way. She vented. I was feeling overwhelmed with no clue of our future. I vented. And at the end of the conversation I joked that if they would just pay my airfare to Germany, I would come help them for a month or two as a “mother’s helper.”

She said yes. I almost fell off the bed I was lounging on!

When I talked to my husband about it, he smiled again and said, “isn’t that what you wanted to do?”

And now? My youngest daughter and I are in Germany for a few months. The “doors” toward the future for our family all seem tightly closed right now. But opportunity still came knocking…

Leaving...on a Jet Plane...

Leaving…on a Jet Plane…

(Isn’t God AMAZING?!! I just love this story of His providing…for me and for my friend!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Admin
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 15:48:41

    Serendipitous indeed, Jill – I love how you maintain an optimistic world-view no matter what. If you didn’t, of course, you would probably not have recognised the opportunity when it arrived. Happy travels, and I trust that the future will take care of itself in your absence! Much love x

    Reply

  2. onerebelheart
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 16:24:59

    Wow! What a tremendous opportunity, and a reminder that sometimes our opportunities do not come in the form we expect. Great post!

    Reply

  3. Lynda Schrader
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 19:42:34

    What a great story. When one door closes, another really does open if we have the ability to see it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

