Be-Living

Most of you know that I’m a list-loving gal. Making lists helps me clear my brain; helps me think, and plan, and organize. Once they are made, I don’t necessarily have to follow the lists. It is the making of them that is significant.

For those who have followed this blog for the past year and a half (really? It’s been that long?!!), you have seen my lists of things to do. You read my plans for a “personal year of jubilee” leading up to my 50th birthday. You heard some of my resolutions and listened to my ramblings about “what’s next.”JILL EMMELHAINZ-0008

As this year ended, I tried to join some friends in looking back over 2012. The idea was to answer questions and capture the highs and the lows of the past year. Somehow, I just couldn’t get motivated to do that pondering.

And as the new year loomed, I tried to get excited about making new lists; lists to give direction and focus to 2013. Usually I find such list-making to be invigorating. But, again, I was totally unmotivated to do that type of pondering. (I know, I know…I must be ill…no lists?! How could that be??)

At first I thought it was because of the traveling I wrote about last week. After all, wandering in Europe with 2 of my daughters is compelling. And living with friends in Germany for a few months is exciting.

But eventually, I realized my hesitation at list-making was something more than not being a focus of time and attention. I realized that God has been trying to call me in a still, small voice.JILL EMMELHAINZ-0047

I haven’t wanted to hear what He is calling me toward. It was easier to ignore that quiet voice and strain to hear a roaring thunder of clear direction. As a friend likes to say “first-born have to be in control” and I’m definitely a first-born. And I like to be DOING, keeping busy, helping others, exploring my surroundings, trying new things, pursuing dreams, encouraging others to do the same.

My call for this year? My “one word” for 2013?

Be-Living

I am challenged to live a life full of “being” this year. Active living, not just sitting around; but focused on “being” rather than “doing.”

I will keep you posted on how I do with this great-big-challenging-task…

(Photos taken by my friend and professional photographer, Jo Blackwell. See her website HERE. Specific wording of “be-living” came from a blog post by Ann Voskamp which can be found HERE.)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Admin
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 03:21:09

    We all need time to “be”, Jill. Interesting post, and thank you for crediting my photographs 😉

    Reply

  2. Leann
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 14:49:29

    I think that is a great word for this year! I don’t think I always live life to the fullest so that’s definitely something I should strive for. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. gibsongirl247
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 16:28:39

    Being in the moment…something I need to do too. Thanks for your words!

    Reply

  4. sherylo
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 17:18:25

    Be-Living is something I’ve worked on for the last few years–the whole idea of not wishing myself elsewhere, reliving the past, dreaming of what I’d like to be next, but being in the moment. It hasn’t been easy for me, but it has been worthwhile. I’m pretty sure it has helped me see God at work a little more clearly, too.

    Reply

  5. FaithBarista | Bonnie Gray
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 15:16:23

    Be-Living. It sounds like God is prompting you beyond lists — into your heart. Thanks for sharing your one word, Jill in the Faith Jam on Faith Barista!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: On “Be-living” and Blogging | Journey2Wonder

Leave a Reply

